100,000

Some time on Sunday night, this blog received its 100,000th page view since I began writing in May 2009. Traffic has been steadily rising since last fall, and a quarter of that 100,000 has come since February 1st.

Many blogs see 100,000 page views in a day, so this blog remains a small one. But I’m still thrilled. And I think the increase in traffic testifies to an appetite, both in the US and abroad, for news and commentary about Africa. The popularity of the sites listed in the blogroll, and many other wonderful Africa-focused sites across the internet, is further evidence for that contention.

I’d like to offer a big thank you to all the readers. You guys give me the encouragement to keep thinking and writing. Thanks especially to commenters like Tidinit, James Gundun, Gyre, and others. Comments can make or break a blog, and I’m fortunate to have smart people weigh in on important issues. Even if I don’t always respond to comments, I read and think about them, and I try to weave those perspectives back into my writing. And if you are a regular reader but don’t comment, then I hope you will start – I’d like to hear from you.

I’m looking forward to continuing with the blog, and I’m grateful that anyone reads it at all. Thanks again for the support!

10 thoughts on “100,000

  1. congratulations! and thank you for blogging. i mostly read it by RSS, and i don’t comment a lot, but this has become one of my all-time favorite blogs.

  2. Hello Alex,I would also like to congrat to the well deserved success of your blog. I think you are doing a fantastic job and I´ve made it into a daily routine vistiting it.

    I am a swedish phD student doing research about agroforesty systems in Burkina Faso. Basically we are looking into vegetation history and dynamics and the relations between trees, groundwater recharge and ecosystem carbon content.

    It is extremly interesting, all though a bit worrying, to follow the situation in Burkina. My (limited) impression is that there is a wide spread dissatesfaction with Campoare among different social groups and this can possibly evolve into something more than sporadic bustups.

    Looking forward to more interesting posts and I will try to pick up on the commentary sections.

    • Thanks for commenting Martin, it’s very interesting to hear about your work. Sounds important, especially given issues of deforestation.

      I agree with your impression of the political situation. We’ll see if the president hangs on – he is a skillful politician, so it could go either way, it seems to me.

  3. I have been following events in Africa a little more closely for about six months now, and your blog is great. Sadly, the news services address Africa only peripherally, and then they only provide “news”. You give insight and analysis, in addition to more thorough news coverage on many topics. Great job – I proudly link to you.

Leave a Reply

