My Annotated Translation of al-Naba’s Interview with Abu Mus’ab al-Barnawi

The file below is my annotated translation of an interview that an Islamic State newsletter, al-Naba’, did with Boko Haram’s (or, if you prefer, “ISWAP’s”) Abu Mus’ab al-Barnawi, who is likely the son of Boko Haram’s founder Muhammad Yusuf. The interview was published in August 2016, marking a rupture between al-Barnawi (whom the Islamic State recognized as its “governor” for West Africa) and Abubakar Shekau, Muhammad Yusuf’s successor as Boko Haram leader (and the previous, official “governor” for West Africa in the Islamic State’s eyes). My translation was in the publication pipeline, otherwise I would have posted it sooner, but it recently came out in the Journal for Islamic Studies , which has given me permission to post it. Please find it here.

Leave a comment